You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Mac vs Windows ( Professional Graphic Designer)

Hello,

I’m a professional Graphic Designer, I need to upgrade from my current windows to a new computer. I’m very confused what to choose, I worked on both Mac & Windows but I really liked the Mac.

The only issue is what I face with Mac is the RAM as it is very low (8gb) and with windows you can go upto 128GB ram

as for my budget, I cannot afford the 16.

my question is

I do heavy designing and 4k /3D rendering

Is 8 GB enough for me?

Posted on Apr 22, 2021 6:46 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Apr 23, 2021 10:23 AM

You are welcome, I have added RAM to several 27". They just introduced new color iMacs. I am not yet familiar with those, so if you are thinking of getting one of those, make sure you can still add RAM. All of this applies to the 27" models, which is really what you want as a graphics designer - a larger screen.

Edit: just checked the color specs - they are 24" and do not appear to have user replaceable RAM slots.

9 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Apr 23, 2021 10:23 AM in response to Yousefkasabji

You are welcome, I have added RAM to several 27". They just introduced new color iMacs. I am not yet familiar with those, so if you are thinking of getting one of those, make sure you can still add RAM. All of this applies to the 27" models, which is really what you want as a graphics designer - a larger screen.

Edit: just checked the color specs - they are 24" and do not appear to have user replaceable RAM slots.

Apr 23, 2021 2:09 PM in response to Yousefkasabji