You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Upgrading the 2X2.66GHz quad-core Mac Pro(early 2009, 5,1) in 2024

I am living in South Korea(I am not an engineer. English is not my native language.) and I have a M1 MacBook Pro, a G4 and a Macintosh II. And I recently bought an Mac Pro A1289, early 2009, dual CPU, firmware 5,1(originally 4,1). It was an old system but I bought it because it was still good and also very cheap. It did not work; the seller did not know how fix it. Its firmware was flashed to 5,1 and six 2 Gb rams were already installed. For the first time I replaced the power supply and installed two DDR3 16Gb 1333MHz ECC Samsung RAMs on #1, 5 and four 2Gb rams on #2, 3, 6 and 7. #4 and 8 remained empty.  The system did not work(display was white screen). So, I removed every 2Gb rams. Now it works. 16Gb rams are on #1 and #5.

I have many 1/2/3/6TB HDDs to install and about to upgrade the CPUs, add new SSD and rams, and also update Mac OS for this workstation soon.

1) Can I install both 16Gb and 8/4/2Gb rams on one system? If it is possible, how to arrange them? Or this won't be good choice?

2) If I buy 1600MHz 16Gb rams, they can be installed with 1333MHz rams? 

3) The Mac Pro shows me that the memories are 1066MHz although I installed 1333MHz ones. 1333MHz or 1600MHz rams are all become 1066MHz on the 2009 system?

4) The graphics card is ATI Radeon HD 5770 1024Mb.  If I set the resolution to 2560X1440, it's my monitors max res., the display becomes bad. I cannot read the characters.  It's best when 1920X1080. I am not sure it is the limit of the graphics card or it is out of order. Should I change the graphics card for the higher res.?  What would be recommended then?

Earlier Mac models