You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

💡 Did you know?

General and ongoing cleaning can help you maintain your AirPods or AirPods Pro.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Multiple airpods lost microphone after 1 year

Problem details below - question I'm looking to answer is: Are other people seeing this problem? Do the AirPods Pro have the same problem?

So, I have been using AirPods for several years now - initially the first generation, and most recently AirPods 2 (not pro). I've had 3 sets. With every single set, after about a year the microphone breaks on one of the two pods. It pairs, I can hear, but nobody can hear me. I typically then pin the microphone to the other AirPod (so if the R is broken, I pin to the L) and that works for awhile until, inevitably within a few months, the other microphone stops working.

This has been so consistent that I'm ready to give up on AirPods - it's just starting again on my latest pair. Too bad, because otherwise I love everything about them - fit, functionality, everything, but I'm at the end of my rope. I would have thought Apple would have better quality than this.

iPhone 12

Posted on Dec 16, 2022 7:12 AM

Similar questions

3 replies

Dec 18, 2022 6:10 PM in response to thejeffnextdoor

Hello thejeffnextdoor,

It seems like you continue to encounter microphone issues with your AirPods, even after multiple pairs, right? Are you seeing this behavior only with the phone app, or also the Voice Memos app?

Does it happen when you pair your AirPods to another iOS device?

Here's how top pair with another device:

Connect your AirPods and AirPods Pro to your iPhone