You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

“Adobe AIR.framework” is damaged and can’t be opened.

An App called HymnQuest no longer launches. Instead I get the message “Adobe AIR.framework” is damaged and can’t be opened.

HymnQuest also produces the error message as in this screenshot

When I go to Adobe's webpage to download the latest runtime version, I get this message

Please help. I am way outside my comfort zone. I'm a driver not a mechanic!

iMac 27", 10.15

Posted on Nov 7, 2019 5:00 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Dec 19, 2019 4:04 PM

I fixed my problem, and got Adobe Air to run and open my file.

I saw a thread from adobe which gave some instructions. https://community.adobe.com/t5/air/adobe-air-error-message-macosx-catalina/td-p/10683302

I opened terminal and entered

cd /Library/Frameworkssudo xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine ./Adobe\ AIR.framework

Then I closed terminal

Then I opened activity monitor and found and selected the process Adobe Air, and then forced it to quit.

And bingo! I was then able to successfully right click on my file and open it with ADOBE AIR Application Installer

6 replies
Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Dec 19, 2019 4:04 PM in response to PharmlyDoc

I fixed my problem, and got Adobe Air to run and open my file.

I saw a thread from adobe which gave some instructions. https://community.adobe.com/t5/air/adobe-air-error-message-macosx-catalina/td-p/10683302

I opened terminal and entered

cd /Library/Frameworkssudo xattr -r -d com.apple.quarantine ./Adobe\ AIR.framework

Then I closed terminal

Then I opened activity monitor and found and selected the process Adobe Air, and then forced it to quit.