You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Why did Time Machine not Back up my iTunes library?

Hello all,

My last iMac died a couple of weeks ago. I took it to a shop but the logic board was seemingly dead. I got a new iMac and took it to the shop for them to clone my new Mac from my old one. Apart from some tweaks here and there, everything's pretty well as it should be, with one fairly major exception: Music.

I've been using Time Machine for incremental backups for a few years. However, the only iTunes music library that's in my most recent backup is from 2019. A lot has changed in my library in those nearly five years. It'll be a real pain to have to redo all the changes (deletions, additions, playlists etc.).

Is there any particular reason why Time Machine wouldn't have backed up the iTunes library file in that time, or am I missing something more fundamental here? I'd really like to choose a much more recent library file, but I just can't find one.

The last iMac was running either Sierra or High Sierra. The new one is running Sonoma.

Any help will be gratefully received.

[Re-Titled by Moderator]

iMac (2017 – 2020)

Posted on Aug 25, 2024 6:50 AM

11 replies

Aug 26, 2024 5:34 AM in response to Matt Stalker

See Managing your Mac media libraries - Apple Community for thoughts on the newer library layout.