You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Canadian GST Tax Form - Business number?

I am setting up my tax information, and the Canadian tax form GST506 asks for a business number. I am an individual developer residing in Canada looking to have a paid or iAd-supported app on the App Store, and I do not have a business number. Do I need to register for one through the CRA? Will I need to create a business name? I would appreciate any guidance from others who have been through this process on what exactly to do.

iPhone 14 Pro Max, iOS 17

Posted on Jun 25, 2024 9:22 AM

3 replies

Jun 25, 2024 10:30 AM in response to danila147

danila147 wrote:

I am setting up my tax information, and the Canadian tax form GST506 asks for a business number. I am an individual developer residing in Canada looking to have a paid or iAd-supported app on the App Store, and I do not have a business number. Do I need to register for one through the CRA? Will I need to create a business name? I would appreciate any guidance from others who have been through this process on what exactly to do.

This stuff can get complicated very quickly. No one can give you advice because everyone's situation is different and the processes change. So someone else's experience, even if their situation is identical, may have been different two years ago.

Be aware that the scale of fraud right now is mind-blowing, off-the-charts, you-can't-believe-insane. I'm sure you're honest, but fraudsters make an effort to look honest and reputable. Plus they have tons of cash on hand. Do you really want to get mixed up in that?