You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

AppleScript that will highlight 32 characters?

Hi there, I'm hoping to streamline my video-captioning efforts that I am doing in various web-based applications.

Video captions should be limited to two lines of 32 characters or less. When I am parsing out some Auto-generated captions, I will place my cursor at the beginning of the caption text, hit the right-arrow key 32 times. This allows me to see where I need to place a line-break in the captions, or create a new caption entirely.

I'm new to AppleScripting and am hoping someone could help me write a script that would take the current cursor position, hold down the shift key and hit the right arrow 32 times, so that I can visually see the text that gets selected via this script.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Posted on May 14, 2020 10:31 AM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on May 20, 2020 3:48 PM

Thank you for your help! I think I'm close!

• I opened Automator and chose Quick Action as the document type.
  • I chose "Run AppleScript" from the Actions, kept the default values of the fields (Workflow receives, ..., Color), and pasted your block of code in the text field, replacing the "(* Your script goes here *)". So the code looks like:

on run {input, parameters}

tell application "System Events"
		repeat 32 times
			key code 124 using {shift down}
		end repeat
	end tell

return input
end run

• I saved this Quick Action as "Quick Action - Highlight 32 Characters".
  • Next, I went to System Preferences > Keyboard > Shortcuts > and found " Quick Action - Hig...ight 32 Characters" listed under Text. I set shortcut to ⌃→ (control and the right arrow)