You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Looks like no one’s replied in a while. To start the conversation again, simply ask a new question.

Message alerts STILL not working: I've checked everything

I have an iPhone 8 that I've been using for two years that has an up-to-date operating system and I just purchased an Apple Watch Series 5. I have a problem getting haptic alerts for incoming Messages on either the phone or the watch. In particular:

• Text messages don't show on the Watch screen at all and do not vibrate; they go straight to the Notifications Center. That happens whether the Message notifications on Apple Watch are set to "mirror iPhone" or "custom."
  • Text messages on the iPhone do not vibrate when the iPhone is asleep, although messages from other apps (like News) will vibrate regardless of whether the iPhone is awake or asleep. They go directly to the Notification Center.
  • Text messages will vibrate (or make a sound) if the iPhone is awake.

That behavior happens when the phone is not in Do Not Disturb mode and when Messages is set to send messages prominently (rather than the "Send Quietly" mode from the Notification Center.) The Notification Center is toggled "on," and all three "alerts" are checked (lock screen, notification center and banners). Sound and Haptics are set to vibrate on ring and on silent, and System Haptics are turned on.

Bottom line is that I have checked the most likely culprits and the suggested solutions that have been identified in the other message threads. What else should I try? I really need this feature to work as it should.

iPhone 8

Posted on Feb 10, 2020 8:43 PM

Question marked as Top-ranking reply

Posted on Feb 10, 2020 9:27 PM

I find that iMessage prefers your active device to receive audible or haptic notifications.