You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Very Slow Synching of Photos after changing external disk drive

Hi all

I have been using Photos as my main product for many years now but recently had a SDD issue so had to move the library from a back up to a new drive (which worked fine). I have now been trying to complete the iCloud synch process for nearly 2 days. I use a MacBook Air (fully upto date on SW etc) with Photos V10, and have around half my 2TB of Cloud storage free. The photos library on iCould looks fine, and the library size on the SDD is around the same, but with a few less photos showing (probably due to some recent phone photos not yet synched due to this issue). I have around 33,000 images, mainly RAW files, stored and some video. The counter currently sits at "Synching 25,900 items to iCloud" and seems to run at around 150-200 per hour on a 900mbps download/100mbps upload connection.

I remember when I went to the MacBook from my desktop (which is too old to support the latest RAW file formats) it took a while to get everything synched but that was over a 25mbps down/8mbps connection, this is taking ages. And only seems to really progress after a shut down and restart.

Any suggestions?

MacBook Air (M3, 2024)

Posted on Oct 14, 2024 3:58 AM

5 replies

Oct 14, 2024 7:47 AM in response to BigBlueEagle

I think 2 days may be too soon to worry. It's not just downloading the pictures, but it has to re-scan them all for duplicates, faces, and all that sort of stuff.

The usual suggestion is to keep the MacAir plugged in, turned on, with Photos either inactive in the background or closed.