You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Saving a surround 5.1 project in Logic Pro

Helo all,

I'm pretty new at this. I want to know how to save a surround 5.1 project in Logic Pro. Does it need any special extension ? Can I save it as a normal .wav ? And once properly saved, I need to have that musical surround 5.1 project connected to a 5.1 system. Which audio or other types of cables are needed ? Do I need a special audio interface like a Scarlet ? Then, I need to be able to have the 5.1 system play my music in surround 5.1

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 14.2

Posted on Oct 8, 2024 7:02 AM

5 replies

Oct 10, 2024 6:54 AM in response to yoyoBen

Thanks YoyoBen for your reply. This is complex, at least for me. I write good music but I have to realize that I'm not very good at cabling things together ! ;-(

If I may, here's the context. I am about to be invited to present/ "spatialize" LIVE a few of my works in front of an audience. We - the agent and I, agreed that my works would be presented in 5.1. I think it's a very good call because my works emphasize a lot on the Spatial elements of the music. My works are very immersive. I mix in binaural and meant to be listened to with headphones.

We don't know exactly as of today in which venues I will present my music. That means I can't get in touch with the Head Technician. Don't know the Hall size. And they will vary from gig to gig.

____

I need to remix my works in 5.1 in Logic Pro (v.11). I did the conversion of my works from stereo to Surround and started remixing. From what I'm seeing, everything is going fine (I wish no surprises...)