You can make a difference in the Apple Support Community!

When you sign up with your Apple Account, you can provide valuable feedback to other community members by upvoting helpful replies and User Tips.

Full Storage on MacBook Pro

My computer storage says 984.23 GB of 1 TB used. I don't know if I can upgrade from my macOS Ventura since I don't have storage left. I haven’t put many things on this computer. Just a lot of personal family pictures/videos that I transfer mainly from my iPhone. I attached my EtreCheck report and unfortunately I'm not very tech savvy and at a loss at what to do. I downloaded Malwarebytes as I saw that recommended by several people in this apple community. It says Detections 17. Do I just Quarantine those, or where should I go from here? I was just trying to transfer my phone's pictures/videos and back it up since I just got the new iPhone. That's when I noticed I had no storage. I appreciate any help. Thank you.

MacBook Pro 13″, macOS 13.7

Posted on Oct 5, 2024 12:50 PM

9 replies

Oct 5, 2024 5:01 PM in response to Sab_C

That's a lot in Pictures. You can keep clicking and drill further down. If you have a lot of storage in "Photos Library.photoslibrary", that is your Photos library, obviously. EtreCheck won't let you go into that directory. But if you want to manage that folder, you'll have to do it through Photos itself.

Anything else in in Pictures is something that you should be able to delete or archive.

(It's been many years, but there might also be an old iPhoto library in there that is consuming a lot of space. I might have to call in some additional help for that. I don't remember how to deal with that.)

Also, you have an awful lot of storage in Library. That is one of those "delicate" locations, so you have to be careful with it. But that's still an awful lot. That's almost what I have and 168 GB of mine is just from Xcode, which eats storage like nothing else.

Oct 5, 2024 4:35 PM in response to etresoft